Today’s Apple Feedback: Recalcitrant Shared Calendar Notifications

There seems to be no end to the efforts to quell unwanted event notifications on the iPhone. Don’t get me wrong, I love well timed (and desired) notifications, but Apple has fallen far short of the mark when it comes to taming notifications, especially those from shared calendars. This bug I’ve found is particularly insidious. My wife shares her calendar with me and despite having it set to “Ignore alerts”:

ignore-alerts

I still get notifications about her events on my iPhone:

alert-on-phone

Incidentally, there’s no way to set “Ignore alerts” on the iPhone.  You have to do it on a computer or perhaps on the iCloud website.

The kicker here is that I don’t think I’m actually getting notifications that she has explicitly set and I am not getting these notifications on my computer:

no-imac-notif.png

The event in question, i.e. the notification which finally pushed me over the edge to look into what the heck was going on here is one my wife has on her calendar for tomorrow.  Note also here that my computer shows that the event has no notification/alert set:

imac-calendar-event-no-notif

And the event is on her calendar that is shared with me, as seen both in my phone’s calendar settings:

cal-shared-with-me

and in the google calendar sync settings:

gcal-sync

And even though my computer shows that the event has no alert set, unbelievably, the same event on my iPhone does show an alert:

def-alert-added

I couldn’t figure out why my iPhone had an alert set for the same event for which my calendar on my computer showed that there was no alert set, until I realized that the time of the alert was the default time I’d set on my iPhone:

def-alert-setting

So what this means is that if I sync a google calendar shared with me on my iPhone, even if I set the calendar to “Ignore alerts”, and as long as I have a default alert setting for my calendars on my iPhone, I will get my default alert from those shared calendars’ newly created events.  Phew! That’s a very specific loophole in calendars in iOS, hence Today’s Apple Feedback:

My default alerts are being added to events created by others on my synced version of their calendars shared with me

I could not figure out why I was getting alerts on my iPhone for events on calendars shared with me and I think I figured it out. The default alert setting on my iPhone is adding alerts to events created by the sharer ONLY ON MY IPHONE’S SYNCED COPY of their calendar. My computers show that the event has no alert set, but my phone shows my default alert for newly created events on that event and the alert goes off despite “ignore alerts” being checked for that calendar. I have catalogued all the evidence of this in a series of screenshots from both the iPhone and my iMac. The event for which I got the latest notification was “Jeffrey will call”, which is an event my wife created on HER calendar. See linked images.

I’m still running iOS 9.3.4 on my iPhone, so I hope that my next update will address this issue, but somehow I doubt it. I will post an update after the iOS update. I’ve been holding off on the next iOS update because I was given a very specific and lengthy set of instructions from Applecare on performing the next update to address a slew of other issues I’ve had since I buying my new iPhone 6S early this year (2016), mainly the fact that Siri initially doesn’t work after plugging in a pair of headphones (an extant problem right out of the box), but that’s a whole other blog post. Note, my version of OS X in the screenshots is OS X 10.12.1 (Sierra).

Advertisements

One thought on “Today’s Apple Feedback: Recalcitrant Shared Calendar Notifications

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s